The estate of the Ashbridge family, one of the founding families of Toronto (formerly York), is made up of two acres of the original homestead, an 1854 house, several outbuildings, the surrounding property containing gardens, and a significant collection of artefacts. Conservation efforts are run by the Ontario Heritage Trust in recognition of the historical significance of the site.
The oldest house remaining on the site, the Jesse Ashbridge House, was built in 1854 according to a design by Joseph Sheard, architect and Toronto mayor (1871-72).
- A blend of Neo-Classical brick quoins.
- Decorative cornice brickwork and Regency style (as seen in the veranda’s bellcast roof and fanciful arcaded treillage).
- The mansard roof is in the Shingle Style, added c. 1899.
A significant collection of household and personal artefacts:
- The original land grant and wax seals, samplers, a conch shell, a family bible, an 1888 canoe, and bean pot are other artifacts that express the scope of the collection, dating from the 19th to the early 20th century.
A large collection of archival documents representing the personal characteristics, tastes and influences that affected six generations of the Ashbridge family.
Open seasonally to the public during special events such as Doors Open Toronto and Toronto Heritage Week.
Address & Contact Information:
1444 Queen Street East
Phone: (416) 325-5000
Hours of Operation:
Opens for special events such as Doors Open Toronto and Toronto Heritage Week, while grounds remain available all year for visiting.
Key Words: architecture, settlement